Madness is Genius

Hello, hello!

It’s Friday!! I am on verge of crying tears of joy because of how long and crazy my week was. But I made it. And good news, if you’re reading this, it means you did too!

Since I’ve been so busy with school, I haven’t been able to post, which stinks, but here you go! My latest look:

DSC_0164DSC_0083DSC_0089DSC_0094 copyDSC_0154DSC_0158BeFunky Collage BlazerDSC_0030DSC_0024DSC_0026DSC_0061DSC_0175

Photographs by Nailah Fisher. Check out more of her stuff here.

Every woman should have a nicely-tailored black blazer. This staple is stylish and can be so versatile. As a college student, it can come in handy for a job or internship interview but I like wearing it with non-business attire as a fashion statement in my street wear. In this outfit, I paired it with an edgy tee and some slouchy jeans. If I weren’t wearing the blazer it probably would look a little sloppy but the addition of the jacket cleans it up a bit, while still being laid back and casual.

As soon as I saw this t-shirt in Urban my eyes widened. It had to be mine. I mean, c’mon. The graphic is so cool. Marilyn Monroe is seen as one of the sexiest women in history. She is a symbol of sensuality, class and female confidence. Combine her iconic hand-to-mouth pose with a zombie and you get the perfect t-shirt design. Plus, the fact that the hand is the only color in the black and white image is the icing on the cake.

The jeans are from American Eagle and I was so happy when I found them. I love the look of the “boyfriend” jean but I was never able to find a pair that fit me the way they were supposed to. For my denim, American Eagle is my go-to store; but their boyfriend jean, and the boyfriend jean in every other store fit horribly (if the baggy look is what you wanted). Some were just too tight and didn’t hang right, or just weren’t the right cut whatsoever. So just a tip if you want great boyfriend jeans: go to American Eagle, walk right passed their “Favorite Boyfriend” jeans and grab a pair of the “Tomgirl” jeans (I even went a size up from what I usually buy).

I’ll leave you all with the quote that inspired the title of today’s post as we head into the weekend:

“Imperfection is beauty, madness is genius and it’s better to be absolutely ridiculous than absolutely boring.” ~Marilyn Monroe

‘Til next time,

The Girl with the Curly Hair

Leave a Reply

