The Comeback and the Makeover

IMG_2836

Photo by Nailah Fisher. Check out more of her work here!

Hello lovelies!

Wow, it has been a long time since my last post. Due to a crazy week of final exams, some personal adversities and a full-time summer job, this blog has suffered on the post front. But, I’m back! And I have an announcement to make: This blog is getting a makeover!

Ever since I was little I’ve loved fashion and putting outfits together. I look forward to flipping through the new Vogue every month and going to a Mercedes Benz New York Fashion Week show is on my bucket list. Starting my own style blog is something I have always wanted to do and last semester I finally did it. I got a taste of what it was like to post regularly, pose for the camera and be able to call myself a “blogger.”

It was a blast; but something was missing. In almost every academic class that is heavy in writing, I am told to answer a very important question: “So what?” In every writing piece, the writer should know why people should care about what he or she is writing about. For years, I have looked to bloggers for inspiration and they have helped me develop my personal style. I hope that I can help a, say, 15-year-old girl (or guy) get one step closer to finding herself and feeling confident expressing herself through the clothes she wears and I will continue to post looks and style content because it’s something that I love. But starting now, this blog will offer people more than just pictures of me in cute clothes.

The day I officially moved to New York City and started my college career, I embarked on a journey to find my niche, what I am meant to do with my life. I declared journalism as my major because I love talking to people, helping people, and, of course, writing. My freshman year is behind me and, to be completely honest, I don’t know what I want to do, which career path I want to take. But I’m hoping this blog can help me figure it out.

Blogs are supposed to have a theme, a focus. But I don’t want to be constricted to one thing. I have never been someone who puts herself in box and I kind of feel like, prior to its hiatus, this blog was in a box. I am by no means a glamorous fashionista; I’m just a college student loving life in the greatest city in the world, figuring it all out. I love discovering new places, reading, eating, laughing, working out, shopping, being with friends and family, and making a difference in people’s lives. I hope by broadening the blog’s content, I can reach more readers and help more people.

You may have noticed the headers have changed. This site is now going to be a record of my exploration of the crazy city I call home and my odyssey. Some of the new content will include exercise ideas and ways to stay healthy, some movie and book reviews, and the occasional “Food for Thought.” I hope you guys come to my page to learn some stuff, get inspired and have fun! I am a sarcastic goofball who has fallen in love with life. So c’mon, let’s love life together!

Have a wonderful weekend, everyone!

Love,

The Girl with the Curly Hair

 

Leave a Reply

